| Language | Home |


||||||||


Men who suffer from epilepsy

In 1867 the "Innere Mission" (an evangelical social assistence organisation) opened in the county of Gadderbaum the "Rheinisch-westfälische Anstalt für Epileptische", a small home for men who were suffering from epilepsy. When Pastor Friedrich von Bodelschwingh took over the reins, he was at the same time presiding officer of the "Westfälische Diakonissenhaus" (a feminine religious nursing order). He was therefore able to ensure that its new headquarter would be built not in Bielefeld, but right next to the home for epileptics. This was because he intended in future to be able to take in women and girl patients, and would need female nursing personnel. The home for epileptics also got a new building. He named after the biblical site of Bethel – or the "House of God". The Diakonissenhaus was given the name "Sarepta". With the passing of time the institution grew bigger, many more homes with biblical names were built – one of which was

[Haus Arafna].


Awaiting execution

69 years later, on the 20th of November 1941 at 8.30 pm, Dr. Friedrich Mennecke wrote to his wife:

My dear Putteli,

Another hard day of work is over. I'm sitting alone in my hotel and have just eaten poached cod with boiled potatoes and mustard sauce for dinner. I'm treating myself now to half a bottle of 1934 Crettnacher Eucharienberg, from the banks of the Saar...
Work today went by rather quickly again. The "Arafna" house with its 68 patients is finished, and I took care of 34 of them. It concerns those sick people, who were in the house "Klein-Bethel" during the heavy bombing blitz. You know what Klein-Bethel looks like from outside – they have now moved into "Arafna". My work today involved a considerable number of people awaiting execution...and give yourself a couple of little kisses from your devoted Fritz, also give my kindest regards to the parents.


||||||||


Haus Arafna for [Haus Arafna]

Friedrich Mennecke's letter to his wife led us to the name Haus Arafna. Taken in this context, [Haus Arafna] stands for us as the symbol of our thematical area of interest, which moves in and around the abyss, to plumb the morass of the human mind. The building as such is taken to represent a glance beneath the surface – a listening through walls, the glimpse through the keyhole – with the knowledge that very often the truth lies hidden, and must be sought out. We hope to be the small light which accompanies the listener as friend, lover, accuser, seducer, comedian, or merely as dance partner...here we go.


||||||||


Explanatory notes:

Bethel can be found on the Internet under Bethel History
(german language only).

One can read the letters than were exchanged between Dr. Friedrich Mennecke and his wife, in the book [Friedrich Mennecke. Innenansichten eines medizinischen Täters im Nationalsozialismus. (Friedrich Mennecke. A look inside the mind of a Nazi medical criminal, a publication of his letters from 1935–1945) by Peter Chroust, only in german language]


||||||||


Impressum

| Sprache | Home |


||||||||


Epilepsiekranke Männer

1867 gründete die Innere Mission in der Amtsgemeinde Gadderbaum ein kleines Heim für epilepsiekranke Männer, die "Rheinisch-westfälische Anstalt für Epileptische“. Als Pastor Friedrich v. Bodelschwingh 1872 die Leitung übernahm, war er gleichzeitig Vorsteher des Westfälischen Diakonissenhauses. Er konnte durchsetzen, daß der Neubau des Diakonissenmutterhauses nicht in Bielefeld, sondern neben die Anstalt errichtet wurde, in die er zukünfig auch Frauen und Mädchen aufnehmen wollte und deshalb weibliches Pflegepersonal benötigte. Auch die Anstalt selbst erhielt ein neues Gebäude. Er nannte es nach dem biblischen Ort Bethel – zu Deutsch: "Haus Gottes". Das Diakonissenhaus bekam den Namen Sarepta. In der Zukunft weitete sich die Anstalt schnell aus – viele andere Häuser mit biblische Namen wurden erbaut – unter ihnen das

[Haus Arafna].


Erhebliche Todeskandidaten

69 Jahre später, am 20.11.1941, schrieb Dr. Friedrich Menneke um 20.30 Uhr an seine Frau:

Mein liebes Putteli!

Wieder ist ein harter Arbeitstag zu Ende. Ich sitze hier allein in meinem Hotel und habe soeben zum Abendessen gekochten Kabeljau mit Salzkartoffeln und Senf-Sauce zu mir genommen. Jetzt leiste ich mir 1/2 Flasche, "1934er Crettnacher Eucharienberg" von den Ufern der Saar...
Die heutige Arbeit ging wieder ziemlich flott. Das "Haus Arafna" mit 68 Insassen ist fertig geworden, von denen ich 34 gemacht habe. Es handelt sich um diejenigen Kranken, die in dem Haus "Klein-Bethel" den Bombenhagel über sich ergehen ließen - Du kennst das Haus "Klein-Bethel" von außen – und die jetzt nach "Arafna" umgezogen sind. Meine heutige Arbeit erstreckte sich also auf erhebliche Todeskandidaten...und nimm innigste Pa-Küßli's von
Deinem treuen Fritz. Auch an die Eltern herzlichste Grüße!


||||||||


Haus Arafna für [Haus Arafna]

Der Brief des Friedrich Mennecke an seine Frau führte uns zu dem Namen Haus Arafna. [Haus Arafna] steht für uns in diesem Zusammenhang als Sinnbild für unseren Themenbereich, der darum kreist, den Abgrund, den Morast des menschlichen Gemüts auszuloten. Das Gebäude als solches steht für den Blick unter die Oberfläche – das Horchen an der Wand, den Blick durch das Schlüsselloch – mit dem Wissen, daß die Wahrheit in vielen Fällen im Verborgenen liegt und nach ihr gesucht werden muß. Wir hoffen den Hörer als kleines Licht auf seiner eigenen Suche zu begleiten, sei es als Freund, Geliebter, Ankläger, Verführer, Komiker oder vielleicht nur als Tanzpartner...here we go.


||||||||


Weiterführende Schriften:

Bethel läßt sich im Internet unter [Bethel Historisch] erkunden.

Briefwechsel zwischen Dr. Friedrich Mennecke und seiner Frau sind in dem Buch [Friedrich Mennecke. Innenansichten eines medizinischen Täters im Nationalsozialismus. Eine Edition seiner Briefe 1935-1945 von Peter Chroust] nachzulesen.


||||||||


Impressum